IoT: Tasmota temperature sensors

Latest project was to ensure the freezer keeps my food frozen!

I used some of the cheap 8266 boards with built in WiFi and Tasmota again. An order of DS18B20 temperature sensors and a very little soldering got a working sensor that posts the time and temperature to MQTT. A block of HTML and some calls to the truly excellent ChartJS library got me a working graph of the results!

On my home page I use a publish / subscribe model in raw HTML and Javascript. WebSockets delivers messages to and from Node-Red lets me control the whole thing.

I’m pretty happy with most of it, with the exception of Node-Red. Those guys did a great thing creating something that’s free of corporate control, then ruined it with some truly awful decisions around security, documentation, and user transparency.

Leave a comment