Kauf bulb issue resolved!

I purchased a Kauf bulb through Amazon because of their support for non cloud based devices. The current LED bulbs from all the stores all over drive the LEDs at the expense of the lifetime of the bulb. I’m sure you all know this, having replaced them in your own homes and businesses. My thought was if I run them at a lowered output I’d get something that lasted much longer. It might even be cheaper to buy the expensive bulbs instead of the ones that quickly end up in the land fill.

I flashed my new device to the latest tasmota and had issues right away. The flash went fine but learning to use it took some time. The device has LEDs for RGB, cool white light, and warm white light and how to control them isn’t terribly logical.

To make a dim blue light for a dark stairwell I finally settled on this command:

backlog Color1 #28114F0000 ; Dimmer 31 ; Power0 1

That worked fine, but any attempt to turn off the light caused the device to reboot and left the light unchanged.

After a “support adventure” the resolution was to down grade the device from version 13.2 to version 12.5.

I now find myself wondering it the Shelly cool white/warm white bulbs, that had similar issues are really not a Shelly hardware issue. I’m guessing these kind of bulbs are probably all manufactured in China by the same company. I’ll try down grading a Shelly bulb to test the theory. I may owe Shelly an apology.

Leave a comment